Sawdust from a translator’s workshop

Authors

The Ingeborg Bachmann Centre has kindly asked me to contribute blog posts reflecting on my thoughts and activities as a translator into English of primarily Austrian literary texts. I have translated texts by Peter Rosei, Robert Musil, Lilian Faschinger, Doron Rabinovici, Susanne Ayoub, Margret Kreidl, Lucas Cejpek, Gerhard Kofler, Dieter Sperl, and Angelika Reitzer, and translation has become one of my main activities, since it combines scholarship and creativity in such a satisfying way.

I will reflect on problems and solutions from my translation practice, discuss others’ translations, and use this as a way to publicize both my own and others’ published translations. It’s a small enough world that translators can and should support rather than compete with each other.

– Geoff Howes, 12 May 2012

3 Comments

Comments RSS

Leave a Reply

